Dinner at Hill Station

There’s nothing like warm bread, served with olive oil and Dukkah to start a wonderful dinner at Hill Station in Baguio City. I was reluctant to try it at first. I’m not a big fan of Indian dishes but I was curious because the smell was heavenly.

For those of you who don’t know what Dukkah is, it’s a very special dip that you can only find in this restaurant. It contains a mixture of Indian spices with crushed Cashew nuts. By dipping the bread into the olive oil first, it will help the spices stick to the bread.

Me and Anj aren’t big fans of salads, that’s why we opted to get the spinach dip instead. She didn’t want to try it at first. Vegetables aren’t really her thing but I managed to convince her to have a bite. Surprise, surprise, she loved it! I just had to get the recipe from the chef which they readily gave. I’ll be posting about how to make it soon. Just a hint for everyone, it contains 4 different types of cheese! Sounds yummy!

I ordered potato soup for my appetizer. It was a little bit salty for me.

Anj ordered the mushroom soup. Since this is probably the only type of soup that Anj eats, it was surprising to hear how much she liked it considering that my best friend is a very picky eater.

We both wanted to have the coriander chicken for our main course but we wanted to try as much dishes as we can so I ordered the salmon with orange chutney.

The coriander chicken was marinated overnight. It was juicy and flavorful. Coupled with Benguet red rice, you will not go wrong with ordering this dish. My salmon was perfection (and it’s very hard to come by a restaurant with a perfectly cooked salmon)! Unfortunately, I wasn’t that impressed with the orange chutney and mashed potato.The chutney was too strong and the mashed potato wasn’t smooth as I expected it to be.

We were too full by the end of the third course but I couldn’t help but order the orange oil cake with strawberry syrup. It sounded so intriguing. I wasn’t disappointed. It was very moist. I was afraid that the orange flavor would be too strong but it wasn’t. It could do without the strawberry syrup as it can get a little but sour to the taste. Me and Anj spent about two thousand for this dinner. Not bad for a four course meal.

It was a perfect ending to a perfect day.

Location and Contact Details:

Casa Vallejo
Upper Session Road
Baguio City, 2600
Telephone: (+6374) 424-2734
info@hillstationbaguio.com
Leave a Reply

