Easy 15 Minute Fried Rice

As a student living alone in the city, I always try to cook my meals because I don’t like eating take out especially in America where most of their foods are processed. However, cooking is a time consuming task that easily takes up three hours in a day. Time better spent studying or doing other chores. So I took it upon myself to discover dishes that are cheap, healthy and easy to do. Here’s one that I think is perfect for breakfast and it only took me 15 minutes to prep and cook it.

Fried Rice “Kaan Style”
(And for those of you who don’t know, my name is actually Kaan, not Robin.)

You will need the following ingredients:
1 cup of cooked rice (I used chicken stock instead of water)
1 fish fillet (Chopped into small equal pieces. I used Tilapia because it’s cheap.)
1 crab stick (Sliced lengthwise. Most crab sticks are actually just fish that’s flavored.)
Scallions
1 egg (Beaten)
Salt and Pepper
Kikoman or oyster sauce
Sesame oil
Vegetable oil

So what you have to do first is to heat the vegetable oil and then saute the fish. Add the crabstick and scallions. When they’re fairly cooked, add the egg and then the rice. Make sure the rice grains are separated before you add them. I usually use Kikoman but if you don’t have it, use oyster sauce. I don’t measure how much I add. Add a little batch at a time, stir and taste until you like how it is. Add a little bit of sesame oil, salt and pepper and voila! You are done!

Add five to eight minutes of eating time and five minutes for washing the dishes. You’ve minimized a task that usually takes an hour and a half to only thirty minutes!

Leave a Reply

