The Art Institute of Chicago

My weekend has been crazy busy. My sister came over from New York and of course, I had to make sure everything about her Chicago trip was perfect. That meant, cleaning the apartment, organizing my room and planning the places we were going to visit. Since my sister has always appreciated art, The Art Institute (which is my favorite museum in the entire city) was first on the itinerary.

The Art Institute of Chicago

The iconic Greek columns are indicative of European influences in the architecture. You will notice the continuation of this when walking up the grand staircase.

The Art Institute of Chicago

One of the things that I admire about this museum is their wide collection of impressionist paintings. If you can see in the photo below, they have a whole wing dedicated to the works of Monet, Van Gogh, Renoir, Seurat and others.

The Art Institute of Chicago

Probably one of my most favorite paintings besides Van Gogh’s Starry Night, is At the Moulin Rouge by Henri Toulouse-Lautrec. One amazing fact about this painting is that May Milton, an English singer seen as the disturbing green lady on the right, was originally cut off from the canvas since it made the painting harder to sell. Seen in the photo below are a couple of people trying to discern where the cut is located.

Chicago Spring Ate's Visit 2013 - 9

Another favorite part of the museum is the Modern Wing, designed as a bright open space with clean lines.

The Art Institute of Chicago

This is where Jeff Koon’s sculpture called Woman in Tub can be found. This is a memorable piece of art, not only because of its strong missive but also as a result of the vibrant comic-like composition. What I found most interesting is the abrupt sliced head which left only the woman’s open mouth delivering a message of shocked violation.

Jeff Koons

Jackson Pollock

Of course, we cannot forget Jackson Pollock, one of the pioneers of Abstract art. The one I’m standing next to is his work, Greyed Rainbow, which shows a distinct technique he introduced during the 1940s called Abstract Expressionism. An interesting fact to note is that Pollock rarely used brushes instead he veers toward unconventional tools such as sticks or palette knives.

If you are interested in seeing these art works in person and exploring the museum (which you should), look at the information provided below. Hope to see you there soon!

Contact Information:
111 South Michigan Avenue
Chicago, Illinois 60603-6404
+1 (312) 443-3600
artic.edu

9 thoughts on “The Art Institute of Chicago

  1. woot woot Chicago! 🙂 I haven’t been The Art Institute yet, but I so need to! Henri Toulouse-Lautrec is one of my favourites. You’re right, the women in the tub is memorable, I also love that just her mouth is showing the ‘shocked violation’. very interesting.
    xoxo Aimee
    bowsandbeau-ties.blogspot.com

  2. Oh this is perfect! Just last weekend my boyfriend and I were talking about planning a trip to Chicago this summer – and your review of the museum is going on my list of things to see while we are there. Perfect timing :]
    PS. I love the girl in the tub hehe
    Thanks!

    • Oh, that’s perfect! Chicago is great during the summer, lots of festivals! Be sure to hit up the museum campus too, for an amazing view of the Chicago skyline.

  3. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d most certainly donate to this superb blog!

    I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to new updates and will talk about this site with
    my Facebook group. Talk soon!

Leave a Reply

